Revisiting PI3K Inhibitors for the Treatment of CLL: Are They Living Up to Their Promise?

Thursday, August 26, 2021

10:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM MT, 12:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM ET (Duration 60 minutes)

Description:

Blocking the B-cell receptor (BCR) with ibrutinib and other BTKi drugs has revolutionized care in CLL. PI3K inhibitors also block that same receptor and are remarkably effective in treating CLL. Join Dr. Ian Flinn who will explain how these treatments work, the common side effects, and what role they might play in the future.

Speakers:

Dr. Ian Flinn, MD, PhD is the Director of Lymphoma Research at the Sarah Cannon Research Institute.  In this role, he oversees lymphoma research throughout Sarah Cannon and its affiliates. Dr. Flinn also serves as the director for the Sarah Cannon Center for Blood Cancer at Tennessee Oncology and TriStar Centennial Medical Center. Dr. Flinn’s research focuses on the development of new therapies for patients with lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukemia.  This research includes first in human to phase 3 trials with novel approaches such as immune effector cell therapies, inhibitors of the B cell receptor pathway, and BCL-2 inhibitors amongst others.  His research has been widely published in journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, Journal of Clinical Oncology and Blood.

Welcome:

Patty Koffman 
Co-Founder and Communications Director, CLL Society 

Moderator:

Brian Koffman, MDCM (retired), MS Ed
Co-Founder, Executive Vice President, and Chief Medical Officer, CLL Society 

Speaker:

Dr. Ian Flinn, MD, PhD
Director, Lymphoma Research; Sarah Cannon Research Institute and Tennessee Oncology

This program was made possible by grant support from Adaptive Biotechnologies and Bristol Myers Squibb