Smart Patients Get Smart Care™

The World’s Leading Authority for Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Patients

Navigating Integrative Medicine Approaches in CLL

Tuesday, March 19, 2024

9:30 – 11 AM PT, 10:30 AM – 12 PM MT, 11:30 AM – 1 PM CT, 12:30 – 2 PM ET
(Duration 90 minutes)

Description:

Integrative medicine in cancer care incorporates an evidence-informed field of complimentary approaches that can include mind-body practices, natural products, and lifestyle modifications used alongside conventional cancer treatments to promote optimal health and well-being. The integrative medicine approach ideally combines the best that Western medicine has to offer with complementary approaches that address the full range of physical, emotional, mental, social, spiritual, and environmental influences which affect an individual’s overall health.

Join CLL Society and Dr. Onyemaechi Okolo-Taku, who will discuss a variety of integrative oncology approaches including diet, exercise, stress-reduction, supplements, meditation, and more. CLL patient and advocate Stephen Brown will share his personal story of being diagnosed with CLL and the four guideposts that have helped him along his journey.

Welcome:

Robyn Brumble, MSN, RN, Director of Scientific Affairs & Research, CLL Society

Speakers:

Moderator:
Dr. Brian Koffman photo

Brian Koffman, MDCM (retired) MS Ed
Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
CLL Society

Speaker:
Onyemaechi Okolo-Taku - CLL Society

Onyemaechi Okolo-Taku
Medical Oncologist
Ironwood Cancer & Research Centers
Gilbert and Chandler, AZ

Speaker:
Stephen-Brown

Stephen S. Brown
CLL Patient Advocate

This program was made possible by generous donors and grant support from Astra Zeneca.

There are currently no significant sources of funding for Integrative Medicine research in chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), so your support can truly make a difference. To learn more about a great matching gift opportunity to help fund CLL Society’s integrative medicine research please visit our website.