The Changing Face of COVID-19: What it Means for the Immunocompromised

Thursday, January 12, 2023

12 PM PT, 1 PM MT, 2 PM CT, 3 PM ET (duration 90 minutes)

Description:

As much of the world has seemingly moved on from COVID-19 despite the ongoing global health emergency, the virus continues to pose serious risks for those who are immunocompromised. However, as the virus and the options for protection and treatment are changing, we must remain hopeful for the future. Immunologist, Dr. Shahzad Mustafa, will speak about the immune vulnerabilities of CLL/SLL patients despite their treatment status, and prevention methods to protect against the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Hematologist Dr. Andres Chang will provide an update on the latest COVID-19 variants and available treatments. Both presentations will be brief, as the majority of the event will be dedicated to answering audience questions about COVID-19 and CLL/SLL.

Speakers:

Moderator:

Brian Koffman, MDCM (retired), MS Ed
Co-Founder, Executive Vice President, and Chief Medical Officer
CLL Society 

Speaker:

S. Shahzad Mustafa, MD
Lead Physician – Allergy, Immunology, & Rheumatology, Rochester Regional Health, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Speaker:

Dr. Andres Chang, MD, PhD
Instructor, Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology at Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

Speaker:

Robyn Brumble, MSN, RN
Director of Scientific Affairs & Research, CLL Society