Smart Patients Get Smart Care™

The World’s Leading Authority for Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia Patients

Treatment for CLL: When is the Right Time to Start?

Monday, June 3, 2024

9:00 – 10:30 AM PT, 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM MT, 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM CT, 12:00 – 1:30 PM ET
(Duration 90 minutes)

Description

Many individuals diagnosed with CLL do not require immediate treatment upon diagnosis. Instead, they will be closely monitored during a period of Active Surveillance (watch and wait) until it becomes necessary to initiate treatment. The decision to begin treatment can be complex and varies from person to person. Several factors are considered when determining the right time to start treatment for CLL, including the presence of symptoms, personal disease features, and the individual’s overall health and preferences.

Join the CLL Society and Nurse Practitioner Laura Zitella, who will discuss the timing of CLL treatment and the various factors to consider when navigating your disease journey. You will learn about the right time to start treatment, the signs and symptoms to report to your healthcare provider, and strategies to improve common symptoms such as fatigue, painful lymph nodes, and more.

Advanced Questions

Ask your question in advance of the event by emailing [email protected] by Thursday, May 30th Please include “June Webinar” in the subject line.

Questions asked in advance are provided to the speaker in preparation for the event. Questions that are applicable to more than one person and written succinctly have a higher chance of being asked by the moderator.

Speakers

Welcome:
RB Headshot 2_Color_July 2023

Robyn Brumble, MSN, RN
Director of Scientific Affairs & Research
CLL Society

Moderator:
Stephen Feldman - CLL Society

Stephen Feldman
CLL Patient Advocate

Speaker:
Laura J. Zitella - CLL Society

Laura J. Zitella, MS, RN, ACNP-BC, AOCN
Hematology, Blood & Marrow Transplant, and Cellular Therapies Program
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
Associate Clinical Professor, School of Nursing
University of California San Francisco

Find CLL Society on Social Media

Follow CLL Society on Facebook @CLLSociety as well as other social media platforms below.

This program was made possible by generous donors and Astra Zeneca.