Giving Care to the Caregiver

Monday, November 1, 2021

10 AM PT, 11 AM MT, 12 PM CT, 1 PM ET (Duration 60 minutes)

Description:

Too often caregivers can feel invisible as the patients’ physical and emotional journey is the central story, and yet caregivers are vital in addressing challenges and providing support. Join CLL Society and Dr. Allison J. Applebaum to learn about the amount of time that caregivers dedicate to this role, the different types of stress and burdens experienced by caregivers, and how to address these issues.

Speaker:

Dr. Allison Applebaum is an Associate Attending Psychologist in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK), and an Assistant Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medical College. She is the Founding Director of the Caregivers Clinic at MSK, housed in the Counseling Center. The Caregivers Clinic is the first of its kind and provides comprehensive psychosocial care to family members and friends of patients who experience significant distress and burden as a result of their caregiving role. 

 

Dr. Applebaum’s program of research focuses on the development and dissemination of psychosocial interventions for cancer caregivers, as well as understanding the impact of caregiver psychosocial wellbeing, prognostic awareness and communication skills on advanced care planning. She has published over 100 articles, reviews, and book chapters on these topics, and is the editor of the textbook Cancer Caregivers (Oxford University Press, 2019). Dr. Applebaum has received competitive funding for her research, including awards from the National Cancer Institute, the National Institute of Nursing Research, the American Cancer Society, the T.J. Martell Foundation, and the van Ameringen Foundation. 

Welcome & Moderator:

Introduction & Moderator:

Presenter:

Patty Koffman 
Co-Founder and Communications Director, CLL Society 

Brian Koffman, MDCM (retired), MS Ed
Co-Founder, Executive Vice President, and Chief Medical Officer, CLL Society 

Allison J. Applebaum, PhD
Associate Attending Psychologist
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

This program was made possible by grant support from Adaptive Biotechnologies and Bristol Myers Squibb