CLL Society Webinar: Getting Maximum Benefit from Doctor Appointments

Thursday, May 27, 2021

10:00 AM PT, 11:00 AM MT, 12:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM ET (Duration 75 minutes)

Description:

CLL Society knows how important it is to make the most out of the time spent with your healthcare team. Join us to hear from two speakers to help you prepare for appointments including Becky McAlpin, a Nurse Practitioner who will explain how you can put your best foot forward and increase the benefits of your doctor visits. The information you bring is critical for healthcare providers to accurately evaluate the current status of your disease and look for trends. Behind the scenes, caregiver Steve Delesie will show you how either you or your caregiver can assemble most of the relevant facts of your CLL and medical history and have your most pressing questions for the doctor written down and ready to go, to make certain they are clearly addressed during your visit.

Agenda:

5.27-Webinar-Agenda

Duration 75 minutes

Speakers:

Becky McAlpin, ANP-BC has been an advanced nurse  practitioner for 14 years, serving patients at UCSD, first on the Bone Marrow Transplant team, both inpatient and outpatient.  She then became the outpatient Hematology NP.  She works with both benign and malignant hematology patients, with a special interest in chronic lymphocytic leukemia. She monitors patients both on research protocols and for standard of treatment.  She does procedures as needed for the physicians.

She moved to Southern California from St. Louis, Missouri when she became a grandmother.  She enjoys entertaining all 6 of her grandchildren or letting them entertain her.

Steve Delesie is a devoted husband and caregiver to his wife Cindy. Cindy was diagnosed with CLL in 2016 and is currently seeing Dr. Jonathon Cohen, practicing at Windship Cancer Center, Emory University. Cindy is within one month of completing a regiment of venetoclax and obinutuzumab. Steve graduated from United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD and served as a Surface Warfare Officer. After the Navy, he spent 40 years in sales and marketing management in the men’s apparel industry. After living in Southern CA for 50 years, Steve and Cindy recently relocated to the Atlanta, GA area. 

Welcome:

Patty Koffman 
CLL Society 

Moderator:

Brian Koffman, MDCM (retired), MS Ed
CLL Society 

Speaker

Becky McAlpin, ANP-BC
UC San Diego Medical Center 

Speaker

Steven Delesie
Caregiver
 

This program was made possible by grant support from Adaptive Biotechnologies and Bristol Myers Squibb